Morning all! Some gratuitous medieval eye and ear candy for you this fine day.

From the 'Très Riches Heures' of the Duc de Berry, fol v.173. The Office for Palm Sunday, "Domine ne longe facias". Musée Condé, Chantilly, France. (Image from Wikimedia Commons)

From the ‘Très Riches Heures’ of the Duc de Berry, fol v.173. The Office for Palm Sunday, “Domine ne longe facias”. Musée Condé, Chantilly, France. (Image from Wikimedia Commons)

The Office for Palm Sunday, presented here in a famous and beautiful early 15th-century Book of Hours, reads:

domine ne longe facias auxilium tuum a me ad defensionem meam aspice: libera me de ore leonis et a cornibus unicornum humilitatem meam. deus deus meus respice in me: quare me dereliquisti? longe a salute mea verba delictorum meorum.[1]

And here is the office being sung…


[1] O Lord, remove not Thy help to a distance from me, look towards my defence: save me from the lion’s mouth, and my lowness from the horns of the unicorns. O God, my God! look on me, why hast Thou forsaken me? Far from my salvation are the words of my sins.